The European Council, the governing body behind the European Union (E.U.), recently advised its member states to remove all restrictions on non-essential travel from the U.S. and a number of other countries.

This effectively means that fully vaccinated people from those countries will be able to freely visit E.U. member states without being subject to quarantine or testing upon arrival. According to Bloomberg, unvaccinated travelers from these countries could also be welcomed to the E.U. on a case-by-case basis.

That being said, it is worth noting that the council’s recommendation does not obligate countries to remove restrictions.

“It’s up to every country to decide how and when to open the borders,” French Embassy spokesperson Pascal Confavreux explained to USA Today. “The European Union is the one giving the framework, but the decision comes from the states.”

See the full list of countries that the council is pushing to remove restrictions for below:

  • Albania
  • Australia
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Lebanon
  • New Zealand
  • Republic of North Macedonia
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • United States of America
  • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity

Travelers from Hong Kong and Macao, special administrative regions of China, as well as Taiwan, could also be allowed to visit the E.U. soon.

Air travel, airports, travel restrictions, COVID-19 Previous post TSA Records Pandemic-Era Record For Air Travel
Tokyo Olympics, Fans, Spectators, Events, Japan, Travel Next post Tokyo Olympics To Allow 10,000 Fans Per Venue—For Now